Tis the Season

IMG_9706Another one bites the dust. This last weekend my husband and I got to spend the weekend to help celebrate a good friend get hitched. I also got to be the photographer. AND…. this was the first weekend that I’ve been away from Elsie for more than 8 hours. It was nice to get away, not that I feel or have felt the need to escape, but it’s nice to get some adult time. I think I enjoy my alone time more, but it was good to get away with some friends and to be able to share some drinks with the hubs.

We ended up packing 6 people in the van. Since it’s a work expense and I was going to have to write it off anyway, we figured we would tote the crew to help them save on gas at least. Us ladies sat in the back since I still had to pump. I seriously considered bringing a cooler for my breast milk, but for the sake of space I didn’t really push it. I haven’t had any issues with my booby juice supply.

The car ride wasn’t so bad. It was kind of fun to make the announcement for the guys to know when the tits were comin’ out. For some reason I don’t mind creating an awkward environment. My two girl friends sat in the back with me and were pretty enthralled with how the whole process works. I got to answer a lot of questions and explain that yes, when I bend over my boobs do look like utters. But hey, as long as my husband still digs it, I’m cool with it I guess.

The gals were also pretty excited to hear about breast milk facials. You bet we did them after a fun filled night of drinking. I do them occasionally anyway. It’s free, and it makes your skin really fucking soft. Both gals can also attest to that. Pretty sure we’ll be doing that more often as a ladies night. I should consider selling my tit juice.

I remember when I booked this wedding and said I’d be able to photograph it, Tom and I were a little unsure on if it’d be too soon after Elsie was born, but as far as the work part of it goes… it wasn’t all that bad. It’s a long day. Wedding days in general are pretty long. But I managed to make it through okay. I did make sure to put in the contract I get at least 2 cupcakes or 2 pieces of cake. So there’s always that to look forward to.

The only thing I regret from this weekend is I didn’t really get to dance with Tom that much. We did get to share one slow song, though. He’s such a good guy. He took some pictures towards the end of the night that were pretty good and got tossed in the final edit. At some point when I can afford a fancy camera like the one I rented, I’ll be giving the camera I have now to him so he can play around with it. Who knows, maybe some day or one day we can be a power couple that does photography together. Could be fun.

This morning was pretty hard. It’s never fun to drop him off at the airport. We had to get up around 4:30 in the morning and be out of the house by about 5. Those mornings suck hard. Our kisses get longer and I always tear up dropping him off. They say that distance makes the heart grow fonder. I don’t know how accurate that is, but we sure do miss him.

Leave a Reply

